Gerald R Sherratt was born November 6, 1931 in Los Angeles, California. He attended public schools in L.A., Las Vegas, Nevada, and Cedar City, Utah. He graduated from Cedar City High School in 1949. He received an Associate degree from Southern Utah State College in 1951, a Bachelor of Science degree in Education in 1953 and the Master of Science in Education in 1954 from Utah State University, and the doctor of Philosophy in Administration of Higher Education, from Michigan State University in 1975.

From 1954 through 1957 Dr. Sherratt served in the United States Air Force, where he was appointed squadron commander and acted as a consultant for military training films. He then joined the national staff of Sigma Nu Fraternity, editing the fraternity's national magazine until 1961 when he was appointed Staff Associate to the Dean of Students at the University of Utah with specific responsibilities for Fraternities and Sororities. His professional association with Utah State University began in earnest in 1963 when Dr. Sherratt was appointed the University's first director of High School relations. The next 12 years he served as Assistant to the President, was Director of Development, Director of Alumni Relations, and Director of the Summer School. In 1977, Dr. Sherratt was appointed Vice president for University Relations.

On December 15, 1981 Gerald R. Sherratt became president of Southern Utah State College which is now known as Southern Utah University. He latter retired from the position of president of Southern Utah University June 30, 1997.

Gerald Sherratt served as Mayor of Cedar city from 2001-2009. He continued to be involved in public and civic service until his death in 2016.